My Heart’s Tablet

Writing MasterThe heart is a complex metaphor. Used by many to convey the very core of one’s being, it shows up in songs, short stories, poetry, paintings, even billboards and commercials.

We thrive seeing and reading the hidden messages of one another’s heart. Truly, though, we would never fully reveal the contents of our own heart. For better or worse, we filter our stuff … our output.

We have seemingly little control, however, over the input to the heart. Painful words, disturbing scenes from movies, temptations of greed or lust, even a friend’s disappointment, overwrite our values of integrity and faith.

Injustices (real or imagined) done to me or my family quickly add filters of judgment and self-righteousness.

When these things are busy being written on my heart, where is personal ownership?

How deeply are my precepts of faith engraved in my heart?

Writing is my humble attempt to examine etchings on my heart. These reflections are my efforts to tell of my struggles to make sense of what is and what could be.

I want the Lord’s wisdom to be deeply engraved on my heart. Through His wisdom, I desire to interpret all of life’s circumstances. Not the other way around.I cannot control the circumstances around me, but I can choose where they get written on my own heart.

Posted by Sharon R. Hoover 

Photo Credit: ancestryimages.com

About Sharon R Hoover

Serving the church for over twenty years in discipleship and mission ministries, I've walked alongside many people travelling and exploring the journey of faith. Add in my own crazy path and I hope my writing will offer glimpses of life worth sharing.
This entry was posted in Faith, Randomness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Heart’s Tablet

  1. Pingback: To Blog or Not to Blog? | a Journal of Missional Living

Please share what is on your mind...

