How To Move Forward … Just Stop


A year ago, I planned to write. Two years ago, I planned to draw. Three years ago I planned to do obedience training with my dog. I did … for a bit of time. I was not able, however, to sustain the additions to my life. I had reached the carrying capacity of my day.

The problem: Being fond of everything in my life. I even really like my job! But I cannot add a new interest, hobby or habit without letting something else go. I learned that …

if you want to read more novels … stop watching tv

if you want to improve your friendships … stop logging into social media

if you want to spend more time with your family … stop working at your job

if you want more financial resources … stop spending money

if you want to paint the house … stop sitting on the couch

if you want to lose weight … stop eating

Nobody gets more than 24 hours. Resources remain limited. After much reflection last Fall, I recommitted myself to pursuing my writing. Words poured into my journal. Every situation brought new insights. Opportunities to write increased at work and home.  I felt that I had words to share. I created a new blog.

To move forward, though, I needed to stop something.

I made several changes … fewer movies, novels at bedtime only, and work during work hours (mostly, but I’m still working on this actually). I continue to love a good story — on the screen or on the page — and I still love my job at the church. But less is actually more.

I found that if I wanted to move forward, I needed to stop.

I got busy living … making intentional choices with my time.

Your turn…
What do you want to move forward? To do so, what do you need to stop?

It comes down to a simple choice: get busy living or get busy dying.
(Andy Dufresne
in Shawshank Redemption)

Posted by Sharon R. Hoover
About Sharon R Hoover

Serving the church for over twenty years in discipleship and mission ministries, I've walked alongside many people travelling and exploring the journey of faith. Add in my own crazy path and I hope my writing will offer glimpses of life worth sharing.
This entry was posted in Faith, Randomness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How To Move Forward … Just Stop

  1. Indeed! I love connecting with fellow followers of Christ! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Your decision to not feel victimized is a profound one to consider. I appreciate your addition here!

    • Diana De Vries says:

      I lover your comment ” by stopping we do more”. One of my favourite verses for my life is “Be still and know that I am God……” Ps.46:10,11.
      I found for myself that I was running after what I enjoyed, what I love to do, what I wanted to do. Then on day I was made to stop in my tracks, and the world continued around me. It was in this time of silence I saw God working in my life, in stopping being silent I had made room for God…..In the silence, stillness we will be able to exhalt God to the world around us…

      • Thanks for your addition to the conversation, Diana! I appreciate you sharing about your unscheduled “stop”… that would surely get one’s attention. How wonderful that God shared His presence in such a unique and comforting way! I hope you are well and that God continues to draw you close.

  2. My sentiments exactly, except I found myself with time on my hands and beginning to feel “victimized”, but I refused to sing that song and got busy doing something I have always wanted to do and I love it.The best part is that it has been great to get to know that there are many like myself who love Christ.

Please share what is on your mind...

